The Dublin Rebels Annual Awards Night 2018


And the Winner is…

This past Saturday night, the Dublin Rebels held our Annual Awards night for 2018. The night is a yearly celebration of the team and individual achievements for the past football season.

This years venue was the Toast restaurant in the Temple Bar Hotel, followed by further celebrations in Buskers on the Ball downstairs.

After a welcome message from club Chairman Vinny Dooley to all of the players and guests in attendance it was on to the awards.

Rookie of the Year

As is tradition, the first of the evenings awards went to the Rookie of the Year, and this was taken home by the first Rebel born this side of the 2000s, Receiver and Game Reporter, Calum Walsh.

Rookie of the Year – Calum Walsh receiving his award from Chairman Vinny Dooley

Most Improved Player

Next up on the awards, was that of Most Improved Player. A difficult award to win given some extremely stiff competition, and this year the award went to Running Back Pete McMahon, to cap off a season where the Navan man scored the game winning touchdown in the recent Irish Wolfhounds victory over the Belgian Barbarians.

Most Improved Player – Pete McMahon receives his award from Paul Grogan


Special Teams MVP

The Special Teams MVP was up next, and McMahon wasn’t done collecting glass, picking up another award for his outstanding contribution to the Return and Kicking Units.

Special Teams MVP – Pete McMahon receives the award from ST coordinator Conor Ryan



At this point in the evening, we took a detour from our Annual Awards to acknowledge four of our long serving players. When a player reaches 10 years of service with the Dublin Rebels, they are awarded a set of silver Rebels cufflinks. This year we had 4 players reach that milestone

The recipients of their Cufflinks this year are, Robert Smith, Steven Walsh, Ross McCooey and Eoin Daly(not pictured).

Smith, Walsh and McCooey receive their 10 year Cufflinks


Offensive MVP

Back to the annual Awards and next up was the Offensive MVP. In most cases the Big dogs on the O-Line rarely get enough love, however this years winner of the Offensive MVP is Lineman Alfredo Meneses


Offensive MVP – Alfredo Meneses receives his award from Offensive coordinator Andrew Dennehy


Defensive MVP

The next award of the evening was the Defensive MVP. And the winner of the award, human wrecking ball and QB nightmare giver, Simon Mackey. Unfortunately Simon was unable to collect his award on the evening, and so it was collected on his behalf by his squire, Cian Spain.

Defensive MVP – Simon Mackeys award is collected on his behalf by Cian Spain from Defensive coordinator Steven Walsh


The last of our yearly awards was that of Rebel of the Year. This award is not solely awarded based on play, but on overall contribution to the club on and off the field, and for showing the attitude that embodies everything it means to be a Dublin Rebel. The 2018 Rebel of the Year goes to David Rothwell.

Rebel of the Year – David Rothwell recives his “Rebel of the Year” award from Chairman Vinny Dooley


Hall of Fame Inductees

In a break from previous years, we had two Dublin Rebels Hall of Fame Inductees.


Paul Smyth

Paul started with the Rebels in 2003, another 10 year man who has his Cufflinks. A dominant Defensive End and Tight End throughout his career. He left the game with 6 Shamrock Bowl Titles, 3 Rebel of the Year awards, and now his gold jacket.

Hall of Fame Inductee – Paul Smyth, introduced by Paul Grogan


Andrew Flynn

Andy Flynn is one of the founding members of the Dublin Rebels. A vital part in the success of the Dublin Rebels both on and off the field.
A hammer of a Fullback in his early years, he later moved to Defensive Line, but has played in almost every position on the field. Following on from his Jersey, number 45, being retired at the end of 2017, Andy takes his rightful place in the Dublin Rebels Hall of Fame.


Hall of Fame Inductee – Andrew Flynn, introduced by Patrick Blood


After all of the proper awards, the night was concluded with our traditional “Funny” Awards, which shall remain in the memory of those in the room, a room that was filled with large belly laughs and a great night.